Pantry Station

Today was so much fun!  One of the guys at work showed me how to do some butchery and fish cleaning.  It might sound weird to someone from the outside, but butchery and fish cleaning are critical skills in the restaurant biz!  Only the most trusted employees get to do it because that can make or break the bottom line.  The protein is typically the most expensive item on a plate, so if your employee is cutting portion sizes too big or cutting it poorly and letting some go to waste, you could lose a lot of money.

I also helped roll out some cookies and make pear tarte tatin, which was amazingly delicious with a dollop of vanilla gelato all melty on top!  I know it’s rare for a chef to enjoy baking, but I sure do!

At service time, I got to work at the pantry station with another employee, learning to make sandwiches, salads, and cold appetizers.  It was a slow night, but it gave me the most exhilarating sensations.  I love this job!  I’m totally addicted!  I really like the people too, everyone is really nice to me and is always asking if I want to try to do something or taste something.  They’re as eager to teach me as I am to learn.  I think they’re really accepting me.  One of them complimented me on my knife skills today.  He remembered the parsley I had chopped from Tuesday and said that he wished that I could teach some of the other chefs how to do it!  Here are a few of the things I made tonight:

$50 Lobster Truffle Grilled Cheese

Beet Salad

Ahi Lolipops

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

