Gypsy

I am one of those people who never really settles.  I was never one of those kids who always knew what I wanted to do when I grow up.  At UF, I changed my major numerous times; I think my indecision on a major reflects my thousands of different interests.   I have finally settled on a career: chef and food writer.  I have also already made the decision that many women my age are still struggling with: who to marry (you’ll notice I did NOT use the word settle).  But the new question is:  Where do I  want to live this amazing life as chef and wife?  San Diego is beautiful and I love it here, but it’s not the great foodie town that I long for it to be.  The restaurant scene is limited, and I just can’t imagine living the rest of my life here.  We most definitely have at least another year of living here as Michael finishes up his postdoc at UCSD. 

My gypsy heart wants to travel the world.  I want to live in Paris, Madrid, Tokyo, San Francisco, Seattle, and anywhere in the Carolinas.  I would love to take a year and live with Michael in Paris and apprentice at a bakery.  I would jump at a job opportunity to travel abroad and study cuisine in Europe, but ultimately I think I want to live in the US.  But where in the US?  I know that I want to live somewhere near the ocean,in a big city with lots of nature and a great restaurant scene.  I’m also pretty certain that I don’t want to live in Florida because I feel like I’ve been there and done that.  However, it would be nice to be just a short plane ride away from my family, so maybe the southeastern United States.  But my real dream is to work at Chez Panisse in Berkley for a while, as Alice Waters is a culinary goddess.  And San Francisco has such an amazing restaurant scene.

Sadly, I have just this one life to live, I don’t have enough time or money to do everything I want to do.  I think my restlessness is a direct consequence of my love for adventure and exploring.  So, my question of the day is:  If you could live anywhere in the world, where would you choose?

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

