Southern Comfort!

Yesterday was our last day of normal class, it was very bittersweet.  I can’t believe this journey is almost over!   For production, we made Southern food, which I think was my favorite day!  We had biscuits and gravy, chicken and dumplings, hush puppies, Kings cake, fried chicken, etc.  I made shrimp and grits with bacon, bread pudding, and sweet tea.  It was just such a fun day because chef pretty much let us do whatever we wanted, so we got to experiment with some new recipes.  The food was delicious; it reminded me of Gainesville!

Today I got to spend a lazy morning lounging with my little Taxi pup.  In the afternoon, I ran some errands, etc and took Taxi on a nice long walk to the dog park.  For dinner tonight, Michael and I decided to try a new restaurant.  Arrivederci is an Italian restaurant just down the street from our apartment.  We were seated on the heated patio, and were immediately served a scrumptious warm basket of bread with tomato salsa.  I usually don’t order pasta at a restaurant because its overpriced, but I could not pass up the pasta dish with shrimp, lobster, and mushrooms in a pink sauce.  I am so happy with my choice, it was fabulous!    Lobster is my new favorite food thanks to culinary school.  I finished with a cannoli and a cappuccino, it was the perfect ending to an amazing meal.  We will definitely return!

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

