Final Stretch!

Ok, so it’s been even longer than my last post. . . I’m going to try to make this a regular thing, I swear!

Life updates:

I have not been running.  School has kept me very busy, and I’ve let my training slide.  I’m planning on getting back on the wagon very soon!

Michael and I adopted a puppy named Taxi about 3 months ago!  She is a one year old terrier mix that we got from SNAP.  She has been so much fun, we love taking her to the dog park and the dog beach!

Taxi at the dog beach

When we last left our heroine, she was just beginning culinary school.  Well, I now have just 3 more classes until I begin my externship!  Here are the things standing between myself and gradutation:

Salt Dough Sculpture

We had to make a sculpture out of salt dough.  I chose to make a snail, symbolizing the Slow Food Movement:

Salt dough is made out of water, cornstarch, and lots of popcorn salt, and I used styrafoam as a base.  This has been such a frustrating undertaking!  The dough has the consistency of mashed potatoes, and as anyone who knows me will tell you, I am not artistically inclined.  But I finally finished it today!  I’m so glad to be done with it!  I might decide to sandpaper it once it’s dry to make it smooth, but I’m worried about breaking or cracking it, so we’ll see how that goes.

Plate Presentation Drawings

I have to make drawings of the plates I’m going to make for my final exam.  Again, I’m not a very good artist, so that’s going to be ugly!

Ingredient Paper

I have to write a 2 page single spaced paper due tomorrow.  I already have 1 1/2 pages done, so I just need to do a little more fluffing to fill it out.  My topic is on corn as feed, I’ll post it up here when I’m finished.

Externship Interview

I have an interview today at Pamplemousse for my externship.  I spoke with Chef Strauss the other day on the phone, and it sounds like the interview is basically a formality.  I don’t want to count my chickens before they’ve hatched, but I think I’ve got the externship!  I’m pretty excited, Pamplemousse is a very well respected restaurant and Chef Strauss has great connections!

Final Exams

We have 2 final exams to complete:

A Market Basket, which means that we do not know the ingredients that will be available to us to use until the exam begins.  We have 6 1/2 hours to produce a 4 course meal.  We’ve done market basket exams before, and I actually really like them!  I love the fast pace and the creativity!

A Required Ingredients Final, where we have been given a list of ingredients that we have to use in the final exam.  We are required to prepare a 5 course menu ahead of time, then we have 6 1/2 hours to execute it.

So, how am I dealing with the stress?

Nom Nom!

I think this picture speaks for itself 😉

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

