The History of Culinary Arts

I just got home from day 2 of culinary school.  We were in the library all day discussing the history of the culinary arts.  Did you know that the history of the restaurant dates back to after the French Revolution?  The history of the culinary arts is closely linked to France, which is why so many culinary terms are in French.  Finally all of those years of French class are paying off!  Merci beaucoup, Madame!

We went around the room introducing ourselves; it was really interesting to hear the journey that each person took to get to culinary school.  We’re all coming from very different backgrounds.  We have a stay at home mom, a navy pilot, a manager at Sonic, a few students fresh out of high school, etc.  I’ve already made a few friends!  And I’ve already got an assignment:  to write a paper on a person that we admire & has inspired us to become a chef.  I’m thinking about doing my report on Anthony Bourdain.  Our first test is Friday!  Looks like I’ll be busy tomorrow!

We had a break later in the day where we got to sample some Indian food from one of the classes in progress.  It was really delish!  The other students were commenting on how spicy it was, but I didn’t think it was spicy at all.  I guess I’ve desensitized my taste buds with super spicy Thai food!  I can’t wait to take Flavors of the World, I love International cuisine!!

I also met one of the instructors who’s very passionate about clean, simple, unprocessed food, which is something that I feel very strongly about.  I’m looking forward to hearing more about the issues in the food industry and how we as chefs and consumers can make a difference.

Top Chef and Glee are on tonight, Yay!!  🙂

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

