Culinary School Day 1

Well, I survived my first day of culinary school!  We had orientation today where we went over the rules and regulation of the school.  Some of the rules are pretty strict, especially the dress code!  We are not allowed to wear earrings, nail polish, or perfume!  The guys are allowed to keep facial hair they have now, but they cannot grown new facial hair because the in between stage looks scruffy and unprofessional.

We will be doing work in the library for about the first 3 weeks while we take Professionalism, Intro. to Business Management, and Safety & Sanitation.  I know that these courses are necessary, but I am so anxious to get in the kitchen!

We got our knife sets and books today!!  We were all so excited, it was like Christmas morning!  All of the knives are made by Mac, which is a very reputable Japanese company:

IMG_1633

It contains pretty much every knife and gadget I should need and folds up nicely for portability, as so:

IMG_1634

I accidently cut the tip of my middle finger when I was putting a knife away.  Oops!  It was really minor and I didn’t want to be the idiot who cut herself on day one, so I didn’t tell Chef.  No need to let them know that I can be a bit of a klutz on the first day, they’ll figure it out soon enough 😉

Here are the text books we were given:

IMG_1636

It looks like we’ll be doing a lot of reading these next 7 months!  The books look really interesting.  You know I’ll be thumbing through them this weekend!

It was such a fun morning to meet the other students who also have a passion for cooking and good food.  I scanned the faces of my fellow classmates, wondering who would be the best in the class, who I might become friends with, and where we’ll all end up after graduation.

We got out early, so I came home and made lunch.  I’m thinking a nap is in my future!  Then maybe a trip to the gym to swim some laps.  Michael and I are going to a surprise 40th birthday party tonight at my former employers’ house.  Should be lots of good food and maybe a little vino!

5 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

5 responses to “Culinary School Day 1

  1. Bridget

    Sounds like a great first day! Besides the part of cutting the tip of your finger. lol 3 weeks of those classes.. yeah that is awhile before getting into the kitchen. Patience is a virtue. 🙂 How many people are in your class?

  2. Katie

    I just posted Day 2. We only have class Mon, Wed, Fri, and this past Mon was Labor Day. I promise to post every culinary class to let you know what I’m up to 🙂 And once we get into the kitchen, I promise lots of pretty food pics!!

Leave a Reply

