Splish Splash!

It has been so hot lately!  This afternoon I knew I wanted to get in a workout, but it was just too hot to run.  So I decided to go to the gym and hit the pool.  It was such a refreshing way to get in a great workout!  It’s been so long since I’ve swum laps and it felt so wonderful!  It’s so peaceful: there’s no traffic to dodge, no distractions, and I can’t listen to my ipod.  It’s nice because I can either be alone with my thoughts or just get lost in the repetitive motion of my stroke.  And it really gets your heart pumping!

Swimming is a great alternative for me because it’s low impact.  My legs have taken a beating with all the running I’ve been doing.  Cross training is so important so that you don’t get bored doing the same thing over and over; it also prevents injury from overuse.  I think I’m going to make swimming a regular part of my exercise routine.  Running will still be my main source of exercise, but it’s good to challenge your muscles in new ways.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

