Falling off the Wagon

My name is Katie and I am a coffee addict.  I have loved coffee since I was a kid.  I remember Sunday mornings with my dad, drinking coffee with tons of cream and sugar and reading the comics.  I felt so grown up, lol!  I later graduated to lattes when the Starbucks trend swept the nation.  There was nothing my middle school self loved more than hitting the mall and getting a latte.  I remember eating chocolate covered esspresso beans in high school to get through a late night study session.  It wasn’t until college that I began to rely on coffee to start the morning.  Once I got a desk job, my coffee habit jumped to 3-4 cups a day!  It was the only way to make it through the afternoon slump.  After realizing that my coffee addiction was out of control, I decided to quit cold turkey.  I endured the nasty withdrawal symptoms and came out the other side.  I was clean for a few months until my relapse yesterday.  I needed a pickup after my morning run and the delightful aroma of fresh brewed coffee was just too enticing.  What can I say?  I am a weak woman who loves strong coffee!  And according to recent research, it might not be such a bad thing!  It can lower your risk of diabetes, breast cancer, gallstones, skin cancer, Alzheimer’s, and Parkinson’s!  Now if only they could find some redeeming health benefits for pastries, we could enjoy coffee hour completely guilt free 😉

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

