New Beginnings

Hi  blog world!  My name is Katie and I have just been accepted as a student at the San Diego Culinary Institute!  I begin my adventures in culinary school next Friday!  But a little about myself first:  I am 23 and living in San Diego.  I graduated from the University of Florida (Go Gators!) in the spring of 2008 with a Bachelor’s degree in English and not a clue what I wanted to do with it!  I married my best friend Michael that summer and moved to San Diego.  I have been working this past year as an office manager out of the home of my employers.  I do not find my job fulfilling, and I often use food blogs and cooking as a mental escape from my job.  So I finally decided to take a chance and follow my heart.  I quit my job to go to culinary school and pursue my dream of becoming an executive chef and food writer.

My other major passion is running.  I’m your average runner with dreams of completing a marathon (and a delusional fantasy of qualifying for Boston someday).  I have registered for the San Diego Rock N Roll Marathon on June 6th.  The race is far off, but I have so much training to get myself in marathon ready shape.  Last weekend I ran my first half marathon.  After completing the race, my first thought was:  How am I ever going to be able to run a FULL marathon?

I invite you to follow me as I take on the challenges of culinary school while training to run my first marathon.  I’ll share my triumphs, failures, gourmet meals, and culinary disasters.  It’s going to be a crazy year, but I’m excited to see what’s in store for this Chef in Training!

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

